Skilled migration credit points

Lily

Hi all,

This morning I filled the requirement forms online for the skilled migration, just to check if I qualify - my profession is not exactly specified there, my education is on Physics but I work as a quality engineer - the most related thing on the list I could find was "Plant/Production engineer" do you think this is correct ?

The profession "Physicist" does appear there, but the character of my job is more engineering rather than scientific.... (and my title is kinda.... in between.... "Applied Physics Engineering")

So I find this a bit confusing..... I scored 115 points and it says I have a good chance to qualify for a territory related skilled migration.... However, West Aussie and Perth area are not on the option list...... and I do want to aim at Western Aussie... What does this mean and what are my options ? Has anybody here ran into this before ?

I'd appreciate any info you can give me :)

115 points will be enough for a SIR visa. And with that visa you are allowed to live in regional area's, including a lot of West Australia. But you are possibly not allowed to live in Perth or one of the suburbs....

I think only you can decide whether plant/production engineer is a correct description for what you do. Does your work look like this:
2126-13 Production or Plant Engineer

Plans, directs and coordinates the design, construction, modification, continued performance and maintenance of equipment and machinery in industrial plants and the management and planning of manufacturing activities.

Skill Level:
The entry requirement for this occupation is a bachelor degree or higher qualification. In some instances relevant experience is required in addition to the formal qualification. Registration or licensing may be required.

Tasks Include:
establishes standards and policies for installation, modification, quality control, testing, inspection and maintenance, according to engineering principles and safety regulations